Time Flies When You’re Having Fun!

This semester has flown by and I can’t believe we have our last UGST story class this week! I am so happy and thankful for each person in our class that brought new ideas to the table each week. I feel so lucky to be apart of such a great class and we were even more lucky to have Laura as our teacher and Heather as a peer mentor. Honestly without this class I am unsure if I would have made it through this semester. The learning community we joined was one of the most inviting and I was able to become really close friends with the people in my class. I don’t think I ever left a UGST class being thankful it was over. I know that next semester we won’t have as many classes together but we will always be friends and I know that if I needed anything I could call on my UGST family. Honestly what other class would stay up all night together the night before a big project was due? 

 

Coming to college as an undecided major is probably the least exciting thing to do in life because whenever you are about to leave and people ask you what you’re going to major in and you say you’re undecided they always comfort you and say that’s fine. However by Thanksgiving break when you go back home and they ask again what you decided to major in and you still don’t know things get a little awkward. What my family and friends don’t understand is how much I have learned as an undecided major. I have taken really advanced tests and evaluations to help me figure out what would be best for me to do. I have interviewed professional employees and had to talk to adults in a very mature environment. I have had to blog and tweet and put myself out there for employers. I have been given opportunities to learn more about myself and my personality then I ever knew. Really being undecided has allowed me to get further in my education and in maturing then people who decided a major. I know that my experience in UGST not only given me an opportunity to grow up but also pushed me to get outside of my box and get involved with the campus. I have learned so much about career options and opportunities for my future that I am STILL undecided. I thought I knew what I wanted until I started to look at other options again. I think that UNT will be making a huge mistake by cutting the undecided program because this class was my favorite class this semester. Declaring a major will extremely tough for me but I know that I will always have the best advisor so I am not even worried!!!

Good luck UGST family! I know we will do awesome things!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

