About Me

My name is Rachel Salinas and I am going to be a freshman here at UNT. I was raised in Austin and really enjoyed all of the different festivals and diverse cultures that Austin has to offer. My dad is a musician on the side so we spent a lot of family time downtown and exploring. During the day however my Dad works with computers and networking. He really would have loved for me to have been more interested in that field but I don’t think sitting in front of a computer all day sounds entertaining. My Mom works for Texas Public Employees Association and she is an assistant for a lobbyist. My sister is 20 years old and attending Texas State University majoring in biology hoping to go to med school and I couldn’t be more happy for her! My boyfriend and I have been together for a year and a half and we couldn’t be happier to be here at UNT together. During high school I spent most of my time playing volleyball for my school or for a select team. I also played sand volleyball in the summer. I spent almost every weekend at a tournament and during the week I was at practice almost everyday. I loved the game but I look forward to playing at a less competitive level here at UNT in innermurals. While I was growing up I was sure I wanted to stay with sports either as a sports broadcaster or as a physical therapist. These fields were very different and thats when I decided to be undecided for my career at this point. Now that I have taken more classes I have figured out I really enjoy government and helping others out so now I am thinking I could maybe major in psychology and then go to law school and be a civil law attorney.

Leave a Reply

